Below are brief explanations about these three different diets. Please stay tuned for more in-depth articles covering these subject matters.
A vegan is someone who’s diet is entirely plant-based.
Their food consumption consists of vegetables, fruits, grains, seeds, nuts, beans and legumes. No dairy items (cheese, milk), no eggs, no animal flesh (beef, poultry, pork, fish…), no products derived from animals (gelatine, casein, rennet, whey…), and no honey are ever consumed — though there are some vegans that make exceptions for honey and even oysters, but this is a controversial matter in the vegan community. Additionally, vegans are completely against beeswax, silk, fur, leather, down, wool, and other such products derived from animals.
(Find our vegan recipes here)
A vegetarian is someone who’s plant-based diet consists of vegetables, fruits, grains, seeds and nuts, beans and legumes; additionally other foods such as dairy, eggs, and honey may be included. Vegetarians who eat dairy and eggs are classified into different categories of vegetarianism: a vegetarian that eats dairy but abstains from eggs is called a lacto-vegetarian, one who eats both diary and eggs is called a lacto-ovo vegetarian, and a vegetarian that only eats eggs but no dairy is called an ovo-vegetarian.
Vegetarians completely abstain from the consumption of animal flesh (beef, poultry, pork, fish…), and many will not consume products that contain gelatine, beeswax, rennet (which is used for cheesemaking) and other similar products derived from animals. Vegetarians too are against beeswax, silk, fur, leather, down, and wool.
(Find our vegetarian recipes here)
A pescetarian (or pescatarian) is someone who eats a plant-based diet but also consumes fish and seafood. The word “pescetarian” derives from the Italian word “pesce” which means fish. Pescetarians eat vegetables, fruits, grains, seeds and nuts, beans and legumes, dairy, eggs, honey, fish and various seafood. They do however never consume the flesh of animals such as cows, pigs, chickens and other birds, nor game meats. Just like the variations in vegetarianism, in pescetarianism there are those that will or won’t eat eggs, or cheese or honey. Additionally many will not consume products that contain gelatine, beeswax, rennet (which is used for cheesemaking). Pescetarians too are against silk, fur, leather, down, and wool.
(Find our Mexican made pescetarian recipes here)